Night Pythons – Now for something completely different.

“ITS…”

I’m awake in the middle of the night again (delayed publishing, you should know by now) and I have a new comedy craving.

For months, I’ve been totally transfixed by Blackadder and all its numerous joys and hilarity, however, I’ve now discovered a new gem. I’ve always heard people talking about Monty Python (Flying Circus, Life of Brian, Holy Grail etc.) without ever getting round to watching any of it. I’ve since watched 2 series of Monty Python’s Flying Circus in the past few weeks and I’ve completely fallen in love with it, its so brilliant in every single way. I know I’m so late to this party that one of the members (Graham Chapman) has already been dead for a good few years, but its never too late to find comedy.

Great little poster I found on Google Images.

There’s so many things that I could pick up on as golden moments of comedy, moments that are so utterly stupid and bizarre yet so clever at the same time. The German Joke in the first series and The Ministry of Silly Walks (links to both clips on YouTube are at the end of this) in the second series are both fine examples of this.  There’s been more than one occasion where I’ve had to pause the episodes to deal with the fits of howling laughter that I succumb to when watching it, its painful! John Cleese, Eric Idle, Terry Jones, Michael Palin, Terry Gilliam are and, in Graham Chapman’s case, were, absolutely fantastic comic actors. John Cleese and Michael Palin pretending to be French whilst showing how a mechanical sheep can fly is just another fantastic scene. I haven’t been disappointed with a single thing I’ve seen, so glad I’ve so much more still to watch and discover for myself. I haven’t watched Blackadder much recently which owes entirely to the fact that I can’t stop watching Monty Python, that’s how much I enjoy it! I’m not sure that I will ever ever get tired of it. I’m genuinely not being hipster when I say the older comedies are by far the best ones. Only Peep Show and Charlie Brooker’s Weekly Wipe come anywhere close to making me laugh as much as Monty Python’s Flying Circus and Blackadder ever have, I can’t think of anything else that has ever come close.

In other news, I’ve been listening to almost nothing but Kanye West for near enough a year now, ever since Yeezus came out. I liked Kanye before Yeezus, been a fan since I was about 10, but Yeezus has got me totally hooked, I’ve said many times that I believe it to be my favourite album of all time. I don’t doubt it, every song is just absolutely brilliant.

I don’t have too much else to say really, think I really must be tired, I’m usually full of useless wisdom a this time of the night/morning (05:02am GMT). I think I’m just going to go now.

“And now for something completely different.”

Adios.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8I3zCQzZx68 – German/Killer Joke
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iV2ViNJFZC8 – Ministry of Silly Walks

And now for something completely different.

 

Leave a Reply

