MSP

I love Manic Street Preachers.

They are such a brilliant band, there are numerous bands that I’ve listened to since I was little (Mogwai, Radiohead, Antipop Consortium, Cannibal Ox, Massive Attack, the list goes on) but I haven’t clung to any as strongly as I have with the Manics. I love Mogwai and Radiohead (and the whole list if I’m honest) but there have been patches where I’ve stopped listening to them. That hasn’t happened with MSP, I have always loved them!

I saw them live in 2011 in Wolverhampton and they were just absolutely brilliant, I’ve since seen Radiohead in Manchester in 2012 but it was a different sort of gig so hard to compare, both blew me away. What I love about MSP is that I can associate a certain place or situation with each and every one of their songs. Autumnsong and We Are All Bourgeois Now (I know that one is a cover) remind me of being in Scotland, A Design For Life reminds me of going to a small castle in Wales, Faster reminds me of actually seeing that song live, Enola/Alone reminds me of going to Derby, I could go on and on.

Some of their lyrics are tattoo worthy too. One of my favourite lyrics ever is “I know I believe in nothing but it is my nothing” from Faster, its just a fantastic piece of writing, it sums up life perfectly. I might not believe in anything but it is my nothing that I believe in and nobody can take that away from me. How brilliant is that? I also love their anger they used to have. That controversial performance of Faster on Top of the Pops years ago is a perfect example and my favourite clip from TOTP ever, its just filled with anger and rebellion, yet also a huge amount of truth, just like a lot of their songs (like IfWhiteAmericaToldTheTruthForOneDayItsWorldWouldFallApart). If there was one band I had to listen to for the rest of my life then it would be Manic Street Preachers. Almost every song hits me in such a bizzarely brilliant way, I can’t really explain it. What a band.

If you’re not convinced then I don’t really care too much, Manics will always be my favourite band. Still though, watch this. (Its currently 03:30am at the time of writing, I’ve delayed the posting of the blog to about 13:00 if you’re wandering how I wrote this so quickly after waking up).

Adios.
MSP

Leave a Reply

