Change.

Those of you who know me or have read this before will know that for years my dream was to join the best Army in the world and become a British Army Officer. However, tonight that dream has ended. Not through anything physical (like the eczema eating me alive or the big belly on me) but through a choice of my own.

I’ve been with my girlfriend for over 5 perfect months now and she means more to me than anything else in the world. There’s nothing I wouldn’t do for her, I’d drop everything just to see her. Due to my fanatical love for her, I have decided not to become an Army Officer. I couldn’t put her through the heartache and possible bereavement of an Army wife simply because I want to shoot stuff and get paid for it. There’s nothing I want more than for us to be a happy couple, and I realised tonight that it wouldn’t happen if I joined, I’d lose her if I did.

I hope that people don’t think of me as a coward or a liar because I am neither of those things. If Britain ever ended up in another major war that threatened the safety of my friends and my family then I would be in the Army before conscription started, but it would not be a decision made without the consent of Emma, she comes first before everything in my life. I still have the desire and stupidity (some call it bravery, but I’m not a brave man like other soldiers, I’m just stupid) to fight and to serve my country and even to die for it if I had to, just like past relatives of mine have done. But I also have a strong, passionate love for my beautiful girlfriend.

I will still stay forever interested in military history and retain my passion for it, it’ll be weird getting used to not planning on joining the Army but I’ll get used to it.

I hope none of you are disappointed or feel let down by me, but this is a decision that I want to make and it will not change.

Until next time, adios.

Leave a Reply

